Truffle works by scanning the Slack channels it belongs to for important conversations, then storing information about those conversations. When someone in that channel asks a question, Truffle checks to see if it knows anything to help answer the question, and if it finds something, it will let you know. You can watch a demo of Truffle here.
Truffle only has access to the channels that it has been added to by authorized Slack users. It cannot view content outside these channels that it has been given permission to access.
Depending on what type of subscription to Slack you have, and how your workspace security is configured, you will at least need to be a Org Owner/Admin or a Workspace Owner/Admin of the workspace. In some cases where security is less strict, you may be able to add Truffle as a member, though this is increasingly rare. For more information about Slack security, check out Slack’s own Permissions by role in Slack or Add apps to your Slack workspace.
No, Truffle does not have the capability from Slack to add itself to channels. Only authorized persons in the Slack organization can add Truffle to a channel.
Truffle will only save information about conversations that it finds are important, and will not save the full text itself.
When you remove Truffle, the data from that channel is marked for deletion and will be removed within 24 hours.
Truffle is not able to access direct messages, even if Truffle is added as part of a group chat.
Yes, Truffle can be added to private channels. The content extracted from those private channels can only be accessed by members of that channel.
Content that has been extracted from private channels can only be asked in the context of the private channel it originated from. When someone posts a question in a private channel, Truffle looks for relevant content limited only to that channel ID, meaning the user must be a member of that channel with authorization to post in order to view content from that channel.
Truffle stores its data in EU-based AWS accounts.
Truffle only talks to Slack, and Slack sends signed requests that include the team ID in each request. This team ID uniquely identifies all the data associated with your team and is required to fetch content, preventing other clients from fetching your content.
Truffle takes security very seriously and employs enterprise-grade security and data handling practices. You can read more about Truffle’s security standards here.
When you remove Truffle from your Slack workspace, all data is marked for deletion and will be erased after 30 days, in accordance with our Terms of Service.
You can request a copy of your teams data by sending a request to email@example.com. We will send you the copy within 14 days of your request.